Creepy Friday: Count Orlok and Friend

I had the privilege of enjoying the past and recent posts of a dear friend, Laura of A Pict in Pa and Pict Ink from her rendition of famous monsters to trying out different faces and expressions to inktober that I had to try and see if I can invite the most groovy of Laura’s monsters.  Count Orlok or popularly known as Nosferatu the Vampire kind enough to grant me an appearance and grace my sketchbook with his kind of flair. But a request from the famous Count had to be granted and that is to have his dear friend Maximillian, the Spider, be in the sketch with him. Of course, who could say no to the Count. I might as well consider myself dead meat if I dare to.

mclc2016_countorlokand-friendmaximillian

Thank you Laura for the inspiration, I had one of the happiest learning how to draw experience with Nosferatu. I don’t always do silhouettes, this I think was only the second time but it sure was very liberating. The reference photo had more details but I wanted to deviate from detail and try not to be as realistic as possible. Thus I was able to play with his hands and fingers and his coat collar. And I think the Count approved and did not get angry or complain of anything. He just stared at me with his big eyes and made me feel he was okay with his part of the portrait. Did he hypnotize me? Maybe , maybe not.

Maximillian on the other hand wanted a more detailed sketch and that was what he got. The hairs in his abdomen made my skin crawl. He smelled awful and his one eye made me so embarrassed to be in his presence. He seems to know what I will do next. Also he complains a lot. Unlike the Count he asked to be excused for longer than five minutes at a time and getting back all dirty, smelling more awful and with bloody legs. Goodness, if I had the choice, I will not think of him nor include him in this guest appearance portrait but as requested he must be in. And the journey not to go to the bathroom and throw up is another story to tell in the future.

Again, thank you dear friends for spoiling me with this weird journey. Coming up with mini stories for my sketches makes the ride more adventuresome. Happy Friday!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Creepy Friday: Count Orlok and Friend

  1. I’m so honored to have inspired you! I love the silhouette of Count Orlok. You’ve really captured all those elongated jagged shapes. It’s absolutely reminiscent of his shadow creeping up the stairs in the movie. The spider is just awesome. I love his single eye.

    • Thanks, Jodi! It was awesome inventing stories like it really happened. I’d be the first to run the fastest if ever Count Orlok appears in our door. The only vampire I love is Bella’s Edward. Lol!

Leave a Reply

