Colour Me Positive – Week 32 – Be Alive

Week 32 for Colour Me Positive was all about being alive. Not only living our lives but being a willing participant to every moment, being aware of the different moods we go through each day, making each day count, and making the most of what we can to improve, uplift and share.

The inspirational quote provided was ‘Respond to every call that excites your spirit’ from Rumi.  The quote brought me back to a sad time I went through in 2014 and how that experience helped open the opportunity to see art again through zentangling. Zentangling helped me process acceptance, move on with life with a new purpose and rekindle my love of arts and crafts. By responding to that call, I discovered how meditative and beautiful the art of zentangling was, that scrapbooking was a thing of the past and a new kind of art took its place and was called art journaling. Reflecting, I have a hunch that my Mother who was the cause of my grief at that time made it possible for that opportunity to be presented to me. She knew I love creating things. She knew I love color. She knew I love discovering how things are done and how they operate. She knew I am always at peace when I create. My Mother knew how to help me even in heaven and for that I will forever be grateful.

So, for week 32, my journal page was dedicated to zentangling. In 2014, it was the first art activity that made me feel alive. It was the first art activity where I poured my heart into. It was the first art activity I realized that will tremendously help me with any heartache that will come my way.

 

mclc2016_CMP_Week_32

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Colour Me Positive – Week 32 – Be Alive

  1. Carrie how wonderful that you found zentangling to be so helpful in moving through your grief at the loss of your mother. I absolutely understand how making these patterns brings us inner quiet at times of crisis. I drew endless mandalas many years ago when going through an intense grief cycle and I know they helped in so many ways – so many, it is impossible to say. I’ve been drawing them again just recently – but for different reasons this time 🙂 It’s good to be able to celebrate something that aids us in the hard times ❤

    • Thank you dear Pauline. It is one activity we go back to again and again. ❤ You are absolutely right, the patterns provide an inner quiet….something everyone needs at different stages of emotion. ❤ 🙂

Leave a Reply

