Day 27 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

From my first two abstract paintings, I felt like I do not know what I was doing. I didn’t love both paintings at all. It felt like I was doing them for the sake of #worldwatercolormonth .

Last night I changed my approach for today’s painting from project to play. I let the pigment dance on the paper longer. Letting go of control was something I NEVER do with my art. But I think it is significant for me to do it to learn and understand abstract paintings. Looking at the pigment dance with water is something a watercolor artist has to experience. I can’t tell you how amazing it was to look at the small piece of paper with a single color and a lot of water making a mark and moving me so much. Even before the paper was dry, I already saw tattered wings and open palms. That was the sign I never knew I was waiting for. It wasn’t a light bulb moment, it was more than that. It was a feeling of yes, I can let go and nothing wrong will come out of it.

worldwatercolormonth_day27

I would like to take this opportunity to send everyone a big big hug and a big thank you for encouraging and cheering me on this world watercolor month. Thank you for supporting my big crazy weekly themes just so I could push myself to learn how to draw and watercolor. Your magic dusts is still working its magic and I am still riding the magic mushroom. ❤ ❤ ❤

5 thoughts on “Day 27 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

  1. I love this, it’s one of my very favorites of yours, Carrie. Really beautiful and I love that you are just letting go and watching. Wonderful. When I started abstracts, I was doing graduated circles in lines exactly like this, which is oh so cool for me to see in your work right now. Just love the shape that is shifting and swirling with wonderful light med and dark tones in contrast to the defined geometric circle shapes. Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

