Day 19 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

Today’s bird had tried and tested my patience over and over again. After a hundred erasures, I still could not get the proper sketch. I was about to scratch the whole thing off but realized these too are part of the learning process. I reminded myself that I am not only learning how to color with watercolors but also learning how to draw birds. And so the show must go on.

Good thing that today’s pile of projects were easy to make. Already at day 45 for index card a day hosted by Tammy Garcia of Daisy Yellow  , week 29 for Colour Me Positive 2016 hosted by Lisa Hayes of The Lulu Art Blog , day 180 only since I’m behind for Self Love 365 hosted by Belinda Fireman , and now day 19 for #worldwatercolormonth hosted by Charlie O’Shields of Doodlewash . Wow, writing all the projects I am currently active with were a handful. And I have not included Journal 52 which I am sooo behind, is hosted by Effy Wild and prompts provided for by Effy and Sarah Trupp. No worries and no complaints. These are the things that makes me happy.

So, back to my problem bird. Hmm actually now that it is already finished and currently inside a frame with my other paintings, I think I am beginning to love her. Yes, I think I did okay. She does not seemed to be angry with me. She looked pleased, I think and that’s a great thing. 🙂

worldwatercolormonth_day19

Maya bird in watercolor 

12 thoughts on “Day 19 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

  1. Wow you don’t shy away from the challenging ones, do you? Carrie, your determination will see you through. I admire your tenacity and just running headfirst after a challenge. Your birds are getting better and better and I really admire you painting this one in watercolor. Not an easy subject at all but you pulled it off, lady! 💜

    • Aww! Big hugs Laura! Thank you so much for the sweet words. These challenges keeps me sane, had helped me in so many ways most especially with healing from my mother’s passing in 2014. Art really heals. 🙂 I am really challenged with the birds. That is a very very good thing as it keeps my mind away from overthinking about life, sickness and everything bad around me.

    • Thank you, Larisa. I had a lot of erasures in the sketch and during coloring I was so nervous when I added darker colors that was not in the plan. 🙂 Trial and error is the main ingredient in this month’s journey. 🙂 No complaints but there are days when my patience is not so long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

