Day 12 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

Todays’s challenge.

wafflelove

I love waffles and have been longing to try my luck with sketching and coloring it. My fear has taken me a long time to try but since its #WorldWatercolorMonth, I promised myself to try my best and see where it lead me.

worldwatercolormonth_day12

As I’ve said before, my eyes are not trained to see in 3D, that’s why I have difficulty seeing light sources and shadows and where light and darker shades must go and not. Last night I showed my husband my 2D sketch of this waffle and asked him if there was some way I could make a 2D sketch look like 3D with coloring. He said yes and gave me a quick lesson on light sources and shadows.

This 5×7 painting took most of today to finish. I don’t mind the time as it was put to good use. I am happy and I think I’ve done a great job.

This month has been a journey of so many firsts and I am so glad to be in this with most of you. πŸ™‚

12 thoughts on “Day 12 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

  1. You are killing me!! Note to self! Don’t look at Carrie’s blog when hungry. Im sitting in the library and my stomach is growling! Just kidding! I love this! Im not even a huge waffle fan and I want to eat your watercolor!!!

    • Aww thank you (maraming salamat in my language)! This waffle had been tremendously applauded and appreciated and cheered over at the world watercolor month facebook group. it empowered me to continue with my sketch and watercolor journey but it also brought a lot of fear of failure. the ‘like’ ‘love’ ‘wow’ buttons over at facebook can really uplift or break an artist. i am glad that long before the ‘love’ and ‘wow’ and other buttons appreared in the improved facebook app, my husband and I already had a long and reflective talk about the ‘like’ button. Bottom line is, just create what your heart is calling for for YOURSELF and not for anyone else. If you create for others that might be the start of something very very sad.

      • You are so right. I posted an icad in the facebook group and got a ton of likes once then I was stuck or frozen because what if my next post doesnt get a lot of likes. Then I decided that I like to play and I going to play for me.

        • yes, that’s the spirit. Play for yourself. Create for yourself. Applaud yourself too for giving yourself time to play and make something beautiful. πŸ™‚ Validation should come from us first and foremost. Our husbands can come second πŸ™‚ and the rest of the world comes in third. πŸ˜€

  2. Wow! This is superb, Carrie! You’ve totally grasped not just the shading but also how to create that glisten from the syrup or butter or whatever is on the waffle. You are coming on in incredible strides!

    • Thank you so much, Laura! I am fortunate I am never forced to use white acrylics and or a white signo pen for the highlights. A thick consistency of titanium white always does the trick. You know what, with the result of this waffle, I am more afraid that my next work will not be at par from the last. I know I am being hard on myself. I also know that is it not fair to me to think that way but I can’t help it. Today, I will be making another cake….hopefully the journey will be kind to me too. Thank you always for the support and cheer. ❀

    • thank you so much, Larisa! i am also amazed to see the improvements in my work. forcing myself everyday to create something was one of the best decisions i did for this month. i have for months have been contemplating on doing this and doing that but it never materialized because i was too lazy. i’m glad i joined in the celebration of world watercolor month, that decision jump started my challenging and enjoyable journey everyday. thank you again for the support and cheer! ❀

    • Thank you! ❀ You are making me cry! You and everyone else saw it first. My husband is still at the office and won't be able to see it in the next three hours. He will definitely be pleased. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

