Day 10 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

Today I chose to draw and color a pandan crepe.

I love, love pandan crepes. I get to eat them at one of our favorite restaurants, Max’s . In remembrance of our trips to Max and our succeeding adventures, I ambitiously tried to draw and color their version of the pandan crepe (photo below).

maxresdefault

There are two crepes in the photo and I only chose to draw the lower one. I know, it is too ambitious. I already know I won’t be able to do it in the style I am so inclined of doing (semi-realistic to realistic appeals to me tremendously) but I have to try it.

Knowing that failure is already at hand, the only thing I can do is to push myself to face these challenges and discover if it is really for me or not. I will forever be afraid to try if I won’t do it now. Today.

worldwatercolormonth_day10

My husband said, I am getting there. I said, I am still far away from getting there. BUT I am happy I tried.

There are still a lot of work to do. More obstacles to conquer but I am here. I am showing up. I am accepting my limitations and trying to walk around it to help me be better.

There are things I won’t be able to ‘wing it’. There are colors I will have difficulty mixing. There will always be self doubt and the call to quit and raise the white flag. The door to the exit is always inviting and widely open. BUT no, I will not go there.

Today was a great day for lessons learned and a celebration of bravery. 🙂

 

 

5 thoughts on “Day 10 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

  1. I think you did a great job. You got the colours and shapes spot on. My only constructive criticism is that maybe it’s a little flat and needed a boost where the shading was concerned. I think it’s a lovely little food sketch though and you are being too hard on yourself. I also need to learn about these crepes as I’ve never heard of them.

    • Thank you for the boost of confidence, dear Laura. ❤ I want this month to make a difference in my sketch and watercolor journey. 🙂 Thank you for cheering me on. ❤ 🙂

Leave a Reply

