Day 2 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

Tres Nebulas

worldwatercolormonth_day02

The excitement of people all over the world participating in Charlie of Doodlewash‘s #WorldWatercolorMonth is so contagious. I am happy to be part of this. Thank you Charlie!

My day 2 project is made on 5×7 canson 200gsm paper and winsor and newton watercolors. I wanted to make a nebula and found a tutorial over at you tube. Sorry I can’t remember who the tutorial was from. Instead of one nebula, I made three because I wanted to use my titanium white and see if it will be visible over payne’s gray and ivory black and it did. I am happy, it was not an investment gone wrong after all. 🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Day 2 for #WorldWatercolorMonth

  1. I absolutely love these, Carrie! I’m impressed with the richness of the blacks you achieved. I like the flashes of colour across each circle. Did you spatter some of the white while the paint was still slightly wet and some when it was dry to get the stronger white? And did you use masks? I’m curious about these now as I think my boys and I would have fun painting nebula.

    • Thank you so much! No masks used Laura. I started with in the middle of the circle with my chosen pop of color, when that was a bit dry I added payne’s gray and black simultaneously at the two sides of the circle my brush touching lightly the colored area. Then when added fine salt. I waited for a few minutes so that the areas around where the salt was were dry and patted the area where the salt was with tissue paper, creating my stronger whites. The lighter whites where added after everything was dry. I used titanium white with very minimal water. I hope I made sense. Please do this project with the kids! I’d love to see where their imagination take them. 😀

Leave a Reply

