Colour Me Positive – Week 22 – Mistakes are Okay

This week’s inspirational quote was from Neil Gaiman.

cmp_wk22

And my take on the prompt.

mclc2016CMP_Week_22

My imperfect tree girl. πŸ™‚

I have been dreaming of this girl for quite a time now and this week’s quote was the perfect one to make her. My idea was to make an old, angry, gothic inspired tree but she did not turn out that way. I still have to learn how to draw an old face. What was I thinking in the first place? lol! πŸ˜€ Β And just my other girls, she looked sad as per my husband but that’s how they always look – always sad on their resting faces – so….sad it is.

Coloring her hair was one of the best part of this piece. I hoped I had achieved that leaf color. IΒ used walnut ink, derwent aquatone sticks and dylusions ink sprays for coloring. It was my first time to use walnut ink with a dip pen for outlining and I loved it.

Can you spot the mistakes I did? πŸ™‚

First, her neck. It should look like a trunk but it did not. I don’t know what I was doing. My husband told me her neck looked liked it had drips from chocolate ice cream. Oh my!

Then there is the color bleed from the tree design I put under her eyes. Actually, I love the effect the bleed did but my perfectionist self won’t allow me.

Lastly, its the blue smudges all around the page. It was from the side of my palm where blue dylusions ink were on and I did not know it was there. Oh well.

So, yes, mistakes. I.must.put.perfectionist.self.inside.the.closet. Carrie, its okay. You can appreciate her for who she is. Go and relax now.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Colour Me Positive – Week 22 – Mistakes are Okay

  1. You definitely need to create a stamp images of your girls and market them. People will buy them. Dyan Reaveley, Dina Wakley, Tim Holtz, and 2 other stamp companies that I cant remember have people images. Yours are cute, whimsical, and adorable!

  2. I don’t see imperfections. Once you mentioned it, I spotted the blue smudge but you disguised it well within the colorful background. I thought the neck was an abstracted design of tree bark, maybe a nod to some sort of ancient runes for an ancient nature being. The bleeding under the eyes I actually think is great. I totally would have thought that was deliberate. The leafy hair and the twig antlers are awesome. I think she’s a really well constructed character.

    • Thank you so much, Laura! The walnut ink bleed throughout but its in the eyes where it truly showed. Now that everyone liked the effect, I kind of loving it too. My husband loves everything about her too. I just hope that this perfectionist side of me would take a long leave.

  3. I’ll admit I didn’t “get” the neck/tree part, but I love her eyes! In fact, I love everything about her. Even though I hadn’t “seen” the tree at first, I recognized the overall concept as a link to nature…which is often imperfect but beautiful. The quote is so good. Yes, let’s all go out and break a few rules and make a few glorious mistakes! Some of the best art is born of error.

  4. Your quote reminded me of my nephew’s daughter, who was about 5 years old at the time and told me that it was OK to make mistakes when I messed up on putting together her Lego pieces – which have gotten WAY more complicated than when I was a kid and we used our imaginations not directions! Lol! πŸ˜ƒ Anyway, what is a mistake really? For me, a mistake often turns into a new idea or direction in my art. Your tree looks beautiful just as it is, Carrie Lynn! πŸ’•πŸ˜πŸŽ¨

    • You’ve defined a mistake beautifully Jill. Its so positive and encouraging. Your nephew’s daughter is so wise for her age. You have a lucky nephew. Thanks for sharing that wonderful story. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

