Self Love Day 121

Day 121

selflove_121

A few posts ago I shared that I wanted a watercolor teacher and/or an online watercolor class. My dear husband told me that I could enroll in one anytime I want. That was so generous of him but I told him of my plan first. I only have one watercolor book and its by Billy Showell. Her book, Watercolor Flower Portraits, is a wonderful book full of tips and examples made by her. My plan is to try to do the steps and tips from Billy’s book and copy her flower examples and assess from there if I will need a watercolor class.

For most artists the word copy is definitely a big thing. Many will argue that copying is just not acceptable. I know that and I respect them. Copy is to duplicate, xerox, photocopy, replicate, reproduce. It will take a lot of time for me to be able to ‘copy’ Billy’s flower portraits and I do not aim to do that  I believe that whatever happens I won’t be able to really ‘copy’ everything because I love to put something of myself in every artwork I do.

With this plan, I want to discover just how in depth I want to study and learn watercolors. From the time I started drawing and coloring flowers, getting inspirations from my husband’s flickr account and friends’ instagram accounts, I noticed that I always try to achieve a realistic drawing and color. With that said, studying from Billy’s book will greatly help me ‘see’ things properly and assess what I really need.

If the experience will prove that I indeed need to take watercolor classes then I will enroll and take a class. And if not, as per my own exploration, evaluation and my husband’s critique, then I won’t and will just continue on teaching myself and developing a style of my own. The road to not take classes is a long shot but I am willing to try and be patient and see how I would evolve.

 

4 thoughts on “Self Love Day 121

  1. I think this is a great plan and a great way to learn! I haven’t known you for very long, but I still remember your lily. You definitely have what it takes. I’m still trying to decide if I need lessons. I’ve learned a lot from Artist’s Network TV and arttutor.com. Videos have helped me as much or more than books. But you’ll find your way. If I could paint flowers like you, I’d be very happy! 💛

    • Thank you for the vote of confidence Laura! It means so much. I am not familiar with artist’s network tv and arttutor.com. I will definitely google them. I am afraid but I will try my best. I am always torn with paying for classes and getting new materials. The exchange rate sucks. Lets see how deep the rabbit hole goes on this journey.

    • Thank you for your support, Laura. The journey will take time and a lot of patience and I will try my best. Hopefully I can discover a lot to help me weigh to take a class or not.

Leave a Reply

