Happiness in an Orchid v.2

This week I had the opportunity to derive inspiration from another instagram user. @catherinebythesea has beautiful flower photos in her feed and I can’t help but ask her permission to use some of her photographs for another flower study. Of course I was thrilled when she said yes.

My reference photograph.

Screenshot_2016-04-18-00-19-27

I only got the lower portion with some of the buds. Hence the circle as border, symbolizing a macro shot.

WC_08

 

Title: Becoming

Materials used:

Paper: Canson 200gsm

Pigment: W&N (winsor violet, olive green, permanent sap green, burnt umber) and holbein (cadmium yellow deep, quin magenta, mineral violet)

Brush: escoda optimo sizes 2, 6, cotman size 2, and a liner brush daler rowney 10/0

Painting Size: 5in x 7in

There are no special techniques I use only that I try to blend the colors and try not to create mud  but I do love to put edges in my paintings. I love that each piece has some sort of border. Maybe coloring book pages were a great influence. 🙂 Also, I’d like to share that I have let go of being precise with the sketch. Aiming for a precise sketch only stresses me out, so I just do what I can and hope its somewhat similar to my subject. No stress, only happy hopeful thoughts.

I am grateful to be given the opportunity to learn, enjoy the process, and slowly discover how I want to present the things I paint. Each watercolor piece takes time and requires a lot of patience. I am not only learning the ins and outs of the trade more so, I am learning valuable lessons I can surely apply in life.

2 thoughts on “Happiness in an Orchid v.2

  1. This is a lovely botanical study. I love the way the colours meet and complement each other. I had a student who loved orchids and had a collection of rare ones that she nurtured. She used to gift me orchids ever so often. Such beautiful plants. I can see why they inspire you.

Leave a Reply

