Brush Lettering Wednesday

Here is another set of words for the third month of April from @togetherweletter over at instagram.

Day 14

14_excite

Day 15

15_permanentmarker

Day 16

16_sweet

Day 17

17_shout

Day 18

18_gracious

Day 19

19_friendship

Day 20

20_tryagain

Materials used: Paper – ordinary copy paper; Brush –  pentel aquash, small; Ink –  hydrus watercolor in hansa deep yellow

This week’s goals:

  • try using ordinary copy paper
  • try using a smaller nib water brush

My experience:

  • My water brush glided smoothly with the ordinary copy paper compared to when I used  watercolor paper (canson) last week.
  • The smaller nib water brush is more flexible compared to the synthetic brush (cotman size 2 brush) used last week.
  • Instead of drawing in my helping lines, I placed a sheet of intermediate pad under my copy paper to serve as guidelines.
  • Over all, I am quite pleased with this week’s practice. No stiffness from my writing arm, no difficulty handling the brush (I think I found the right water brush nib to practice with, though I still have one other brush to try :-)), and only slight difficulty with controlling the upper thin strokes.

Next week I will be posting more than seven words as it will be the final week for #togetherweletter. But I plan to continue on dedicating my Wednesdays for brush lettering practice. I think I will put on my big girl’s shoes and try writing longer words.

 

4 thoughts on “Brush Lettering Wednesday

  1. I love your lettering. My students at work are always saying to me…”What’s that letter?” I dont really mind my handwriting, but I just cant read it and neither can my students.

    • Thank you. But you know what I am the only one who understands my handwriting too. If you could see my idea notebook, its always in chaos. Learning how to do brush lettering is helping me write legibly.

Leave a Reply

