Happiness in a Fried Egg

Last Saturday, I had the chance to be at my third place with my husband, a watercolor palette, a few of my favorite synthetic brushes, a pencil, an eraser and my monologue A6 sketchbook. I spent our comfortable silence bonding day studying, sketching and coloring a fried egg.

WC_04

I’d like to think that there is some progress with studying and teaching myself how to draw, at the same time studying and learning how to color using watercolors (a friend said that a lot of patience is needed with using watercolours because layering colors is the key). Ah patience, something I am still working on in all aspects of my life but with this fried egg, I tried working clockwise thinking that when I come back to where I started that part will be dried and ready for the next layer. Since this piece is small, 4.13 in x 5.83 in only, my plan worked. I was able to see its progression and how happy I felt after. I was a Saturday spent well! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Happiness in a Fried Egg

  1. This is a lovely watercolour study. I am particularly impressed with the layering of the yellows in the yolk. Oddly, I was thinking about my oldest brother a short while ago. He died just over 13 years ago and I find I have these odd memories ping into my head from time to time. Anyway, I was thinking about how addicted he was to eating eggs and how we both used to delight in finding eggs with double yolks. So seeing your painting of the fried egg was a little bit of synchronicity and made me smile once more at the memory of my brother.

    • I’m glad the painting coincided with your thoughts and memories of your brother. I am still in the hit and miss part of this watercolor journey especially with layering colors of the same hue. I think my previous studies are really helping me big time with regards to layering colors from light to dark. And yes, being patient proved to be a very positive thing.

Leave a Reply

