Brush Lettering Wednesday

Last week after I posted my brush lettering practice, I joined a lettering group over at instagram to help me practice with brush lettering. The group’s name @togetherweletter with #togetherweletter is hosted by @lissletters and @renmadecalligraphy. They gave out a list of words to letter for each day at the start of the month.

Day 1

togetherweletter_01

Day 2

togetherweletter_02

Day 3

togetherweletter_03

Day 4

togetherweletter_04

Day 5

togetherweletter_05

Day 6

togetherweletter_06

The materials I used are the pentel aquash water brush size large, canson paper 200gsm and watercolor from winsor and newton in french ultramarine. I observed that I find it easier to control the brush when I do big strokes (rain, smile, inspire) rather than writing in smaller strokes (positive vibes, grow). I also found out that it takes a lot of practice to familiarize oneself with the copperplate calligraphy strokes most especially with a water brush. With that, maybe for this month, I would just concentrate on learning how to write using a water brush. Developing my handwriting will come out naturally with time.

Have a lovely Wednesday! To what activity did you dedicate this day to?

2 thoughts on “Brush Lettering Wednesday

Leave a Reply

