Colour Me Positive – Week 5 – Dream Big

For this week at Colour Me Positive, the inspirational quote is – “If your dreams don’t scare you they’re not big enough”.

colourmepositive_wk5

This week’s inspirational quote is a great way to try something that had been lurking inside my mind for quite sometime. I wanted to sketch a lotus flower and use colored pencils for color. My challenge was that my page was already prepped with gesso and I have not worked with colored pencils and gesso before. So, I opted to use watercolors instead but as I was sketching my flower, I can’t get the quote out of my mind. So even with uncertainties I marched on and colored my sketch with colored pencils. Since the page had gesso, my pencils did not glide smoothly. I had to hold the pencil very lightly at the end and just let the color cling to the ridges the gesso created. I did that one color after another and decided to use a cotton bud with baby oil and a paper stump to blend the colors.  I love that the parts where I use the paper stump for blending had the sketchy feel and the parts where I use the cotton bud with baby oil showed a smoother side of the whole page. I’m glad that I turned my vision into something viable and learned a lot in the process.

9 thoughts on “Colour Me Positive – Week 5 – Dream Big

  1. Carrie your flower is beautiful. I love the colors. I saw that quote above somewhere last summer, “If your dreams don’t scare you they’re not big enough.” Then, I said it to my husband. He told me his dreams and they terrified me. He really has a grasp of the meaning of the quote. My dreams were very very obtainable so I guess I need to work on my dreams. 🙂

    • Thank you, Laura. I still have a long way to go with colored pencils but I am glad to be exploring and learning from them. I just hope that my smooth journey with colored pencils will also be the same as with watercolours. But, well, we can’t have everything. We just have to show up and learn everyday. 🙂

        • Watercolours fascinate me and I always wonder at how people use them. Practice makes perfect many would say and I am saying yes to that and hopefully an in-depth online tutorial I could replay again and again. I’m always back to square one with acrylics and oils, that’s another thing I want to try but not soon.

          • I have been really pushing myself with acrylics these past couple of years but I am not getting that far with them unless I just use them as a base layer for then working with other media. I got into watercolour via ink so I tend to treat watercolours just as I use my inks. Probably not the best technique but it does what I need it to do.

            • As long as it does the job that you want no matter how it is used then that’s already great. I love to use acrylics as backgrounds too especially with stencils but then when I use them for faces specially when shading I get lost along the way. More practice and patience needed I guess.

Leave a Reply

