Abstract Graphite : Mandala

About three days ago I shared with you this project’s work in progress shot.

mclc2015_graphiteseries_1

That same night since I still feel a lot of energy, I sat down and went to work on my small sketchbook. Time flew fast and before I knew it, it was time to rest and go to sleep. When I woke up, after doing some chores, I again went back to finish the night’s work.

Finally, by late afternoon, I finished my first abstract graphite project , a mandala.

mclc2015_abstractgraphitemandala

Working in a small sketchbook was a big change for me for now. I did not believe that working small will be as tedious as working in bigger pieces, but I am positive that I’ll get the hang of it. Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Abstract Graphite : Mandala

  1. I love the tonal variation in your mandala. I also love the fact that your mandala has a cohesion to it without being totally symmetrical. I have been intimidated out of trying mandala art because I know I would never achieve perfect symmetry and uniformity but your more quirky version looks more attainable and actually appeals to me more because of the additional visual interest.

    • Thank you Laura. I just let myself enjoy the learning process of shading this mandala. It morph on itself without me having to over think about it. I think you should try it doing one. It may surprise you too.

Leave a Reply

