I Choose To be Unstoppable

My day started out to be just an ordinary day. With the daily chores and planning the grocery list, it is generally a relaxing day. Today, as I was browsing the internet, I chanced upon an affirmation. The words caught not only my eye but my heart as well. I was so inspired that I decided to make an impromptu spread in my moleskine journal. Since I am letting my wild self rule my journaling, I decided to limit my materials with just white gesso, Dr. Ph Martin’s hydrus watercolor in alizarin crimson, a charcoal pencil,  four kinds of stamps with two alphabet stamps in different fonts, and cray-pas crayons in gray and black and scraps of paper. Talk about being wild and limiting stuff, ha!

mclc2015_ichoosetobeunstoppable_1

I was not able to take photographs of the process as I was so engaged with the different ideas swimming in my mind. But let me see if I could take you to imagine how I did this spread. First I light gessoed my pages, then air dried it. Then I added another coat of white gesso but this time putting a few drops of the hydrus watercolor and used a palette knife to spread the combined materials over the whole spread, then air dried. Once dried, I chose four stamps and randomly stamped onto the spread using black and red archival inks – this was the point where I really played my heart out. Then to add focal points, I used the same watercolor’s nozzle to draw flower like shapes then set aside and let dry. When dried, I thought of using my oil pastel crayons and chose the colors gray and black, applied them randomly and smudged it with my index finger. I used a paper from an old journal and stamped on the affirmation using two different alphabet stamp set to stress on some of the words, cut them to size and adhered them onto the spread.

mclc2015_ichoosetobeunstoppable_2

mclc2015_ichoosetobeunstoppable_3

I loved how using a palette knife helped to achieve texture on the pages. The oil pastels when smudged using my index finger went into the texture crevices and added more color. To finish my spread, I used a charcoal pencil to outline my cut out sentiment to make them blend with the whole theme.

This was such an easy spread to do. If not for the drying time, I think I might have finished it in an hour. But I love my pages air dried, so patience was a must. Just in case you will also be inspired to do a page or a spread using the same affirmation, don’t forget to link me up so I could gaze upon your work.

My ordinary day turned to be one awesome, extraordinary day after all. 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Choose To be Unstoppable

Leave a Reply

