Love Endures

The page I am about to share is all about the process of making a page grungy looking. This experiment and the other three pages I did this week made me realize that I have long been in love with the grunge look but was so afraid to make my pages look dirty. Before this week’s grunge art experiments, the only tool I use to help me stain my pages was a charcoal pencil. This week, I discovered a lot of my art supplies can help me achieve a dirty look. Having the courage to start and experiment were the keys after all.

mclc2015_loveendures_1

I started this background last night with two coats of alternately spraying dylusions ink in crushed grape and black marble over a dry lightly gessoed page. Most times when I do not know what to do, I gesso my pages so when inspiration strikes I already have a prepared substrate. When lightly air dried I used a black signo broad pen to make a doodle border. This afternoon, I added another quote of black marble and crushed grape. Set it aside to air dry. Since I have been using dylusions spray inks for quite sometime, I already knew that when dried they do not give the same vibrant colors as when they were being sprayed on and for me that is not a cause for alarm. I love the dried ink as they are, smooth and dreamy.

mclc2015_loveendures_3

I really did not know what to put onto my page, I only knew I wanted a dirty artwork after. Randomly I looked into the small stash of scrapbooking materials I brought from Manila and from my small plastic envelope of ephemera. I found a doily, a few prima flowers and a starbucks coffee cup sleeve. I cut the inside part of my doily and painted the outer part with black acrylic paint, adhered to my page with matte medium. Then I traced an old heart chipboard onto the coffee sleeve and cut them to size. I used the same dylusions sprays I used for the background and added dylusions melted chocolate and cherry pie, a few touches of gesso and fluoro pink acrylic paint with a fan brush, finally a few more stokes of white with a white pastel pencil. With the prima flowers, I gessoed the flowers first and when dried I colored with crushed grape and black marble. Its nice to use the dylusions sprays other than using it as a spray. I have been enjoying it as a watercolor in many of my projects. Finally, using a strip from a watercolor paper, colored with the same ink sprays and using a mini stamp set, I chose the words, love endures.

mclc2015_loveendures_4

Yes, love endures all things, all feelings ,all emotions and all the new and difficult things we perceive in our art journey. Love of what we do will greatly help us discover new things, new methods, new process. As anyone who is in love will say, love after all can move mountains.

mclc2015_loveendures_2

2 thoughts on “Love Endures

  1. Beautifully done. It’s definitely grungy yet it’s got a romantic feel to it too. The purple and blacks make me think of Scottish heather and Highland rain storms so maybe that’s why I feel the romance in it.

Leave a Reply

