Walls Within My Mind

About a week and a half ago I posted this. A journal page using the mini bricks crafters workshop stencil with thick gesso.

mclc2015_artjournal

The other night I was inspired to continue on working with it and added another stencil, Dyan Reaveley’s leaf flourish. Colored the leaves with derwent inktense pencils in field green, apple green, sun yellow and sherbet lemon, the stem with leaf green and sherbet lemon. The bricks I colored with mustard, willow, baked earth, tangerine, fuchsia and chili red and the spaces in between the bricks with bark, mustard and charcoal grey. Activating them with a water brush was the fun part since I have to be careful not to go beyond the lines so as not to smear the colors and combine them.

mclc2015_artjournal_1

mclc2015_artjournal_2

I chose a quote from JD Stroube’s Caged in Spirit book. “The walls that caged me were not of this world but were within my mind”. This quote reminds me of how at times I am too hard on myself, with how cruelly I criticize my work and at how I am paralyzed because of my own doing.

mclc2015_artjournal_3

I wanted this page to remind me that I am not allowed to put myself into such punishment. That subjecting myself to such criticism will not help me improve but would only dull my spirit. I have to accept that the inner critic will never be silent. She will forever be with me and forever see flaws and failures. But like the leaves in my page, I will endure the flaws and failures and bloom, radiate and be at peace.

Leave a Reply

