Documented Life Project – Weeks 7 and 8

Week 7

Art Challenge: Cover Up Good Stuff

Journal Prompt: Going Undercover

wk_07

With this page I started with a collage of different stamped images. I have been meaning to try using most of my circle stamps as base and this project was the best platform for me. With the art challenge this week, I could cover mistakes I deemed as mistakes.  Then I added circles cut from gelli printed scraps. Then I laid two stencils and passed on gesso over them covering a few of the stamped images under. Then I went crazy and sparayed on six different dylusions inks one after another and excitedly waited until the entire page was dry. Sometimes, not having a dryer is fun. The excitement of waiting is just heaven. I kept on looking at my craft table every time I pass it going to the kitchen. After about two hours, my page is all dried up and I was amazed on the resulting color. I imagined a muddied up page with all the colors I put in but it turned out to be dark maroon. I love it! To finish my page I doodled around the gelli print circles to make it pop and added charcoal very near the circle cut outs to make it look like its floating. A few doodles here and there using gold, black and  blue uniball signo pen and my page is finished. The result of this project made me feel confident to try new things and experiment more. I didn’t know that covering up the good stuff was something I could have fun with.

Week 8

Art Challenge: Repeating Elements

Journal Prompt: It’s Worth Repeating

week_08_3

I think I’m going gaga over the dylusions sprays right now. 🙂 With this week, I again used dylusions inks and sprayed them over different stencils at the same time. There is that liberating feeling I felt when I did not over think all the components that will come into my page. After everything has been dried. I chose my diamond stamp as my repeating element. I got the stamp for Christmas and have not used them in any project still. So, I thought this was the right time to use it. I added two more diamond-shaped-like stamps and stamped my heart out. Then I added a quote I got from the internet that speaks a lot about how I do my art.

week_08_2

To make my repeating elements pop, I outlined it in dark orange gel pen, then used creatacolor pencil in sepia smudged my index finger on it. Then added doodles with blue unibal signo pen, filled the bigger circles with white with posca pen and added a few lines here and there on the diamond stamped elements to tie it up with the white in the circles. To finish my page, I added metallic blue gelato using a homemade diamond stencil.

week_08

5 thoughts on “Documented Life Project – Weeks 7 and 8

Leave a Reply

