Documented Life Project – Week 6

February is all about layers and more layers at The Documented Life Project.

This week’s journal prompt: “Don’t stop till you get enough!” and art challenge: When not to stop

This week is a special week for our family, not only its because of Valentine’s Day in a few days but it is also the week where we celebrate my Mother’s first year anniversary in heaven. My siblings and I, though far apart from each other, celebrated our Mother’s life, her laughter, her wisdom, her unique individual relationships with us and the person she was yesterday. The memories of what happened last year may still be fresh but it is in how we each honour her that makes the difference.

Everything arty I did for this week are all dedicated to my Mama. For week 6, the journal prompt and the art challenge made me think of how special my relationship with Mama was. How every piece of layer I put into my page suggest a memory, how each layer will always be remembered and cherished.

wk_6

Mama and I may have a very peculiar relationship like layers upon layers of clothing but we will always be the same, stemmed from one great woman and joined together in love.

10 thoughts on “Documented Life Project – Week 6

  1. This is beautiful! Not only visually, but the thought behind it too. I’m sure your mum would be so proud. How did you do the background?? I want to learn how to do that! There are so many different elements, but it all works together so well!

    • Thank you so much! ❤ I started with adhering on torn book pages and crossword puzzle pages. Then I chose 3 washi tapes and placed then beside each other in three different places. Then I chose my favorite happy acrylics and applied them with my index finger near where I placed the washi tapes so it will be also in 3's. When everything is dried, I applied gesso randomly using index finger too. Then I stamped the circle stamp I got last Christmas. Drew petals around them using 3b and 8b pencils and smudging it with my finger. Then added more of the petal using brown conte pastel pencil and medium charcoal then more smudging. Colored in inside of the petals using faber castel basic colored pencils. Dylusions sprays with the mesh stencil. To add more marks, I used hot pink and blue paint pens. Using the punchinella stencil, I used gelatos and encircled some with black gel pen. To finish the page I added a flower die cut I had from my scrapbooking stash, cut a circle from one of my gelli prints to put on top, colored the edges with colored pencils. The heart was made with inktense pencils and a stamp on top, cut into heart shape and outlined and smudged with charcoal. Last thing I added was gesso through a brick stencil using a palette knife. Since gesso is wet, it blended with the dylusions ink. I dont know why this always happens with dylusions but I always love the effect.

        • applying paint with your finger is so liberating….I always feel like a kid every time I do that. I bet you will have a grand time playing with ink sprays. looking forward to your layered page 😉

          • I can’t wait to get started!

            I nominated you for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award on my last post (http://wp.me/p4u927-uq). I really appreciate that you share your art…..not only how you create, but your thought process behind it and why you create what you do. Don’t feel obligated to play along if you aren’t interested in blog awards. I just thought it was fun and wanted to say you’re awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

