The Documented Life Project – Week 2

January Theme: The Blank Page and How to Face It

Week 2: Art Challenge: Gesso  Journal Prompt: “The beginning is always today.” – Mary Shelley

When the challenge for week 2 got posted, it was almost 12mn at my corner of the world. I have a love-hate relationship with insomnia and that night, insomnia won. To make my time useful, I started my week 2 page. I already did the planner part of my journal a few days earlier and thought of using the same colors and design to make a cohesive two-page spread.

dlp_week2_1

With this project, I decided not to start with using gesso to give tooth to my page, I just put on paint on the white page and spread each one with a brayer. When that was done, I used cans to trace the circle for my flowers and petals were added freehand. I added gesso using a kitchen sponge over the circular part of my flowers and waited for it to dry.

While waiting, I used different stencils to add layers to my journal with a few doodling here and there.

dlp_week2_4

For my flowers petals, I used Conte a Paris pastel pencils in sepia and sanguine, and smudge them off with my finger. Used the same color of yellow (naples yellow) to put in petal design over gesso using a rubber like pen I got from Manila last year. I found them in the art supplies section of a bookstore, I just got them even though I do not have an idea where they are supposed to be used. For more color and layer on top of the petal, I added turquoise using the end of one of my paint brushes, once dry, I doodled circles around them with uniball signo pen gold.

dlp_week2_2

For my smaller petal, I used dark orange acrylic paint for the petal design, added circles using gesso with the end of a paint brush and gold uniball  signo pen to doodle.

dlp_week2_3

For the inner part of my flowers, instead of using the journaling prompt quote provided, I used a different quote I found in the net which speaks of my own journey, in my haste I was not able to take down who wrote it. Apologies for that. Used signo broad pen in black.

Time spent for making this page was time well spent. I guess, I got even with insomnia that night.

To new beginnings!

10 thoughts on “The Documented Life Project – Week 2

  1. I love all of the layering on your pages and all those little details. Using the gesso for the centre of the flowers not only offsets and emphasises the scrummy colour elsewhere on the page but also makes your typography pop. Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

