The Documented Life Project – Weeks 23 to 28

Apologies for the next three days of DLP Prompt posts. Life, family and other art activities helped me to forget to post my prompts weekly. With no further ado, here are my weeks 23 to 28.

Week 23 – Practice gratitude week long

wk23gratitude_7

Chose a flower to be the best way to show the things I am grateful for. Drew and cut out flower petals and used a brad to put them together. Colored them using chalk, stenciled and stamped on. Added flower stamps and flower laces colored with acrylic paint to complete the page. For the planner part, used the same flower laces and a butterfly colored in acrylics with a few sequins. Made my week colorful and meaningful with a few stamps and words of affirmation on it.

Week 24 – Use book pages

wk24_bookpages_6

Used masking technique for this challenge. I’ve had the mask for a few years now and have only used it once. So, I thought of having fun and try to use it for this prompt. Since my mask had a flowery theme, I made use of the positive part of my homemade paper flower stencil, colored them with flouro yellow and smudge them with charcoal. I repeated the process of masking in another paper so I could cut to size and use as tabs for the planner side.

Week 25 – Cover your flap with hearts

wk25_coverflapwithhearts_5

Never used a flap for this journal, so instead, I traced different heart shaped chipboards onto my watercolored  background with micron pen. Did a little doodling and added strips of paper with different words of endearment my family uses to each other.

Week 26 – Bible verse that inspires you or a quote from a favorite book

wk26_addbibleverse_6

I chose a bible verse that had been an inspiration to me ever since jumped into the mixed media wagon months ago. For the spread, my inspiration was one of Misty Russell’s youtube videos. Experimented with the materials I have and was super excited when I finished it. I sooo love the grungy look that I used a lot of charcoal to add ‘dirt’ to my pages. Do we all have that one tool/material we go to everytime?

Week 27 – Do a crossword or a word search

wk27_wordsearch_5

I have been contemplating to make a black and white spread for quite a time but didn’t have the guts to jump on it. When week 27’s prompt was announced, I immediately thought that this challenge was sooo right for that black and white spread. 🙂  I made my own crossword puzzle using the chicken wire stencil and stencil paste and made my own word search. Planner side was filled with doodles and a few splashes of color.

Week 28 – Add an instagram or tiny photo to your page

wk28_instapic_8

Played with my new Stampers Anonymous Tim Holtz Collection – Ultimate Grunge stamp, masking tape and dry wall tape for this spread. My patience was tested with this spread. Since I do not have a heat gun, paint dries a bit longer on masking tape. This was one of my happiest spreads, incorporating a picture of Us before our very difficult Salomon Trail Run.

Leave a Reply

