New Beginnings : Mixed Media Art

I found out through very close friends that the current craze in the crafting world is mixed media art. And since I wanted to try any thing crafty I wanted to get into mixed media art the soonest. But, where to start? Luckily my dear friend Airees introduced me to The Documented Life Project spearheaded by the creative women behind Art to the 5th. I immediately signed up at their facebook page. At first I was intimidated by all the awesome works of the members from all over the world, but then I found myself studying the craft and experimenting on the various media available to me.  That was when I decided to use an existing blank journal and try to make my own monthly calendars as opposed to the recommended moleskine planner. I wanted to make my own planner since I still have a lot of scrapbooking supplies and it will break my heart not to use them at all anymore. And so the journey bagun…

However, insecurity got the better of me and  I just decided to make my planner only and not participate in the group’s weekly challenges. I felt cramped, overly stressed out and out of synch just by thinking about the weekly challenges. Maybe it has also something to do about the super fast paced life I had since the start of this year. So much had happened – mostly heartbreaking life moments and I was emotionally crippled for a couple of weeks.

Then just last weekend, as I was looking at my journal cover, I had that feeling of a – DO IT NOW feeling. So, I got all my materials, pushed myself to craziness (lol!) and made myself create something happy, colorful and whimsical. I only have the ladies of The Documented Life Project to thank for all the inspirations I got from all of their gorgeous pages!

ap_journal2014

Fortunately, sharing my journal cover photo in the group’s fb page gave me a renewed spirit to create more, experiment often and explore my inner artsy self. I have given the feeling of “release” from something I could not explain. God willing, this journey and new beginning with mixed media art will help me “heal” so I can find my way to Him and myself again.

 

Leave a Reply

